Can’t Wait for This Afternoon

Sometimes being pregnant/a mom in the internet age is kind of insane, but it’s also great. We have access to so much more information than we formerly did. We have access to a much wider network of moms than before, too. And let me just say, I adore my online mommy network, especially the Ovia community and GhoulieSays.

Anyway, getting to the point of this post: I’m having my membranes stripped this afternoon. I know a lot of moms out there who know what that is, but for my friends and family who do not, this means that my OB/GYN is going to manually remove the membrane between my uterus and River’s amniotic sac in the hope that my body will release prostaglandin and thus trigger labor some time in the next few days.

Some of you that I’ve previously discussed this with got a little light-headed and panicky at the description, but it’s really not that bad. It’s just like a more in-depth, slightly longer version of the part of your annual pelvic exam where your OB/GYN feels/checks your uterus. All the reading and research I’ve done has proved membrane stripping to be a very safe option for trying to jump-start labor naturally (meaning without medication). However, it only works about 40% of the time, so we’ll just have to wait and see how it goes! I’ll keep you guys updated. ❤

One thought on “Can’t Wait for This Afternoon

  1. Pingback: Baby Coming Soon! | We're the Moyes

Leave a Reply

